Skip to content
pêcheur mer océan plastique

SEAQUAL

SEAQUAL™ RECYCLED MARINE PLASTIC

SEAQUAL™ was born from an observation: each year, 12 million tonnes of waste end up in the sea, 80% of which sinks into the depths. To counter this dramatic reality, the Spanish brand Seaqual 4U reached a new level in 2016 in the preservation of the seabed by creating a polyester fiber designed from plastic waste collected in the Mediterranean Sea and on beaches.

Developing an unprecedented virtuous post-consumption chain going from fishermen to consumers, the Hispanic company has thus succeeded in engaging all players in the textile sector through an eco-responsible collaborative platform. Acting as a catalyst, this ingredient brand, carrying emotions and commitments, accompanies and supports NGOs, partner fishermen, local communities and industries, towards healthier and re-evaluated marine life, inspiring for consumers.

COLLECTION

A revolution possible in particular thanks to the work of 400 partner fishing boats which scour the Mediterranean fishing out as much rubbish as possible, while on the beaches, voluntary collection initiatives are multiplying.


THE TRANSFORMATION

Once collected, the waste is then sorted, treated and then spun into a premium polyester fiber offering the same properties as a fiber made from virgin polyester fiber…. Except that in addition to depolluting, the “Upcycled Marine Plastic” fiber from SEAQUAL™ allows you to save up to 40% water and 50% energy, and this with a carbon footprint reduced by 60%.


THE DISTRIBUTION

A fiber that allows us to create fabrics for the world of fashion, sports, lingerie, swimwear, but also for furnishing articles or electronics. Can be woven as well as worked on knitting machines, SEAQUAL™ yarns are only distributed through two licensed Spanish spinners: Antex, for continuous yarns, and Vich-Gerona Textil for discontinuous yarns.

Available in a wide variety of sizes and finishes, SEAQUAL™ fiber can be used 100% in ecru or dyed yarn, or mixed with natural fibers such as organic cotton, Tencel, viscose, wool, linen ... A diversity that allowed us to develop the perfect composition to develop our new SEAQUAL™ certified fabric, today used to design all of our swimsuits as well as our parka .

SEAQUAL™

UPCYCLED MARINE PLASTIC BY SEAQUAL™

SEAQUAL™ a vu le jour à partir d’un constat : chaque année, 12 millions de tonnes de détritus finissent dans la mer, dont 80% sombreront dans les profondeurs. Pour contrer cette réalité dramatique, la marque espagnole Seaqual 4U a franchi en 2016 un nouveau palier dans la préservation des fonds marins en créant une fibre polyester conçue à partir de déchets plastiques collectés en mer Méditerranée et sur les plages.

Développant une chaîne de post-consommation vertueuse inédite allant des pêcheurs jusqu’aux consommateurs, la société hispanique a ainsi réussi à engager l’ensemble des acteurs de la filière textile à travers une plate-forme collaborative éco-responsable. Agissant comme un catalyseur, cette marque ingrédient, porteuse d’émotions et d’engagements, accompagne et soutient les ONG, les marins pêcheurs partenaires, les communautés locales et les industries, vers une vie marine plus saine et réévaluée, inspirante pour les consommateurs.

LA COLLECTE

Une révolution possible notamment grâce au travail de 400 bateaux de pêche partenaires qui écument la Méditerranée en repêchant un maximum de détritus, tandis que sur les plages, les initiatives de collectes bénévoles se multiplient.


LA TRANSFORMATION

Une fois collectés, les déchets sont ensuite triés, traités puis filés en une fibre polyester de première qualité offrant les mêmes propriétés qu’une fibre réalisée à partir de fibre de polyester vierge…. À ceci près, qu’en plus de dépolluer, la fibre « Upcycled Marine Plastic » de SEAQUAL™ permet en comparaison d’économiser jusqu’à 40% d’eau et 50% d’énergie, et ce avec une empreinte carbone réduite de 60%.


LA DISTRIBUTION

Une fibre qui permet de créer des tissus pour l’univers de la mode, du sport, de la lingerie, du swimwear, mais aussi pour des articles d'ameublement ou de l’électronique. Pouvant aussi bien être tissés que travaillés sur des machines à tricotage, les fils SEAQUAL™ ne sont distribués qu’auprès de deux filateurs espagnols licenciés : Antex, pour les fils continus, et Vich-Gerona Textil pour les fils discontinus.

Disponible dans une large variété de tailles et de finitions, la fibre SEAQUAL™ peut être utilisé à 100% en écru ou fil teint, ou bien mélangé à des fibres naturelles comme le coton bio, la Tencel, la viscose, la laine, le lin... Une diversité qui nous a permis d’élaborer la composition parfaite pour développer notre nouveau tissu certifié SEAQUAL™, aujourd’hui utilisé pour concevoir une partie de nos maillots de bain : la collection océan.

Souhaitant réinventer nos produits pour préserver les océans, nous avons pour ambition de fabriquer toutes nos collections à partir de ce tissu unique certifié SEAQUAL™ d’ici 2020.